Welcome to St. Martin/Sint Maarten!

I’m back! Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. I’ve been cruisin’ around the Caribbean for the past week or so with little to no internet access. However, I’m back to share all of the beautiful places I’ve been and all of the wonderful things I’ve experienced.

pano

I’m just going to make this week travel week.This week I’ll show you the islands of St. Thomas, Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, and Sint Maarten/St. Martin. These are some incredible places to visit. They’re all full of culture, history, and beautiful scenery. The picture above was taken in Marigot, St. Martin.

St. Martin was the last island we stopped by. Since it was our last day, Bryan and I decided to go on a tour. We’d done a lot of beaches and shopping on some of the other islands, but I thought that this would be a good way to end the cruise. What’s so special about St. Martin is that it has two different parts of its culture. The north side of the island was once ruled by the French and the south side of the island was ruled by the Dutch.

Funny story: The tour guide told us the story of how the island was divided. The French sent a man to mark territory and the Dutch sent a man to mark the territory. At one point in the Dutch man’s journey he stopped to sleep while the french man kept going. When they woke up the French had covered an ample distance. So the French ended up getting 21 miles of the island while the Dutch only got 16 or 17 miles. I’m pretty sure it was a joke.

Us on a tour bus getting ready to tour the island.

Us on a tour bus getting ready to tour the island.

When we got on the tour bus in Phillipsburg, I could only remember little bits from my last visit. I remember that St. Thomas was my favorite island, but I couldn’t remember much about this island, but the more places we went to, the more I liked this island.

A beautiful beach a few miles away from Phillipsburg

A beautiful beach a few miles away from Phillipsburg

One thing I like about this island was the way it looked. I was constantly taking pictures because I didn’t want to miss any of beaches or hills or mountains. As a writer, it was absolutely inspiring. I couldn’t wait to get back home to write and see what I could come up with.

International Lookout Bay

International Lookout Bay

Our first stop on the tour was International Lookout Bay. The reason for its name is because when you stand there you can see three different national areas. You can see the Dutch part of the island, you can see the French part of the island, and you can see the British Island of Anguilla off in the horizon.

Bryan and I at International Lookout Bay

Bryan and I at International Lookout Bay

Crossing the French/Dutch Border into St. Martin

Crossing the French/Dutch Border into St. Martin

Our next stop took us across the French/Dutch border into St. Martin. Yes, there are two spellings for one island. The Dutch side spells it “Sint Maarten” while the French side spells it “St. Martin”. It has to do with the way each language pronounces it. So we would travel from the Dutch capital of Phillipsburg to the French capital of Marigot.

Our stop in Marigot

Our stop in Marigot

The West Indies Shopping Mall  in Marigot

The West Indies Shopping Mall in Marigot

The first picture in this post is also from Marigot, as mentioned above. After finished at that stop they took us around the rest of the island and then we had an option to be dropped of in downtown Phillipsburg or back at the port. We chose Phillipsburg. We went to a few shops and

Downtown Phillipsburg

Downtown Phillipsburg

Another beautiful beach

Another beautiful beach

Sint Maarten

All in all..

I love St. Martin/Sint Maarten

I love St. Martin/Sint Maarten

Leave a Reply

