Book Review: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

The Devil You Know

Rating: 3.8/5 Stars

Synopsis: Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it’s just the risk she’s been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions.

A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

First off I’d like to applaud Trish Doller for her ending. The was one specific detail about the ending that I really liked, but I won’t spoil it for you. She did a really great job dragging the reader into the story and make them go on the adventure with Cadie. Also, Arcadia is a great name choice.

This story reminded me of a short story that I read in high school. It was called Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been. Definitely look it up, because it’s worth the read. Anyway, it reminds me of that story in the aspect of her getting into a car with two strange guys.

Now, for the Pros. I loved the language in this story and the places that she gets to go see even though my inner good girl is screaming “What the actual f****!” I loved how Doller kept the reader hanging on. Something was always happening whether it was action or Cadie’s growing relationship with one of the boys. That brings me to our cons.

There were two major Cons that put me off slightly. The whodunit aspect wasn’t believable. Once you read the book and you realize how she is with each of the boys and how they are with her, it’s pretty easy to guess who she ends up with. Maybe it was just me. The other Con is that the bad guy’s motive for doing what he did wasn’t as fulfilling as I wanted it to be. It seemed like he did what he did for simple reasons and maybe that was supposed to be the point, but I don’t know.

This book was written from Cadie’s point of view and honestly  I wouldn’t have it any other way. Honestly, if I didn’t know her reasons for running off with not one, but two complete strangers, I wouldn’t have thought she was a reliable character (she’s still completely reliable, but hey who is?). I think Doller nailed down Cadie’s motives well.

If I had to have a favorite character, it would have to be between Matt and Noah. When you read the book, you’ll probably think I’m crazy. I like both characters because of how they are with each other throughout the book. They seem to have tension, but they also seem to be like brothers (they’re cousins).

That’s honestly all I’ve got right now, but I’d recommend this book. It definitely makes you want to go on an adventure…with people you know…that won’t try to kill you.

Leave a Reply

