The Writer’s Pact

I wrote a blog post a while back talking about blocking out doubt. When I wrote that I was going through my own insecurities about my own writing. It’s like I would love an idea and I would spend so much time working on it only to turn around and hate it a few days later. I realized that writing is like a journey, just because you make a wrong turn doesn’t mean you need to hate the entire trip. So, I’ve decided to push myself in the write direction. I love writing and everything it makes me feel. It helps me escape to a place that I can create, where I can free my mind. Sometimes it’s stressful, but it will always be fun. With that being said, I’m going to make a promise to you and to myself.

First Draft Deadline

Today, June 1st, I promise that I will complete the first draft of my novel by the end of the year. This will give me enough time for school, work, and whatever else may come up. I will not back down and I will not give up because this is something that I want. I acknowledge that I have incomplete stories that I could finish, but there’s a project that I want to start from the ground up.  No matter how much I start to hate it I will keep working and I will go back and change things until I like it. That is my promise.

If you’d like to make your own writer’s pact then do it! Give yourself an amount of time to finish something. Even if it’s just editing, or finishing the first half or blogging just set a time frame and do it. If you wouldn’t mind, I’d like to hear some your pacts . Send me an email through the contact form on the “About Me” page and tell me a bit about your pact, maybe we can help each other.

I’ll still post between then and now, but  I’ll make sure to tell you when I’ve met my goal. I’m ready, are you?

“You never know what’s around the corner. It could be everything. Or it could be nothing. You keep putting one foot in front of the other, and then one day you look back and you’ve climbed a mountain.”
― Tom Hiddleston

Setting a goal is not the main thing. It is deciding how you will go about achieving it and staying with that plan.

-Tom Landry

Leave a Reply

