The Duff- Kody Keplinger

The Duff

Goodreads Synopsis

After watching the movie, I had to read this book. It turns out that even though I loved the movie, I loved the book even more. To me, the movie tried to be the next Mean Girls, but the book never felt that way to me. It felt genuine and different. For one reason or another I loved that Bianca was sort of out of control in her head. She bottled things up which made her more relatable in the books than she was in the movie. I’ll just talk about the characters a bit and I promise I’ll try not to spoil the book for those of you that haven’t read the book.

Bianca Piper: Bianca was flawed, but in a good way. Flaws are what make a character real in the eyes of the reader. If Bianca were this perfect girl who looked down on everyone, I would probably hate her and put the book down immediately. In this case, I’d rather her be a hypocrite than a snob. I like how we got to see two different sides to  Bianca. The tough side she had with her friends and Wesley, and the softer side she had with her father. I like to believe that we each have two sides of ourselves. There’s nothing wrong with it and I thought it was really nice to see in this book.

Wesley Rush: Wesley Rush was seriously a grade A piece of you-know-what. I liked that he wasn’t necessarily an idiot in this book like he was supposed to be in the movie. I think I liked Wesley because I love Robbie Amell and since I saw the movie before I read the book, I spent most of this book picturing Wesley as Robbie and Bianca as Mae Whitman (Honestly I love her too). Wesley had his own problems too which we found out later in the book. He was the character that I loved, but hated too. Why did you have to be shallow Robbie Wesley?!

Narration: This book was told in 1st person from the perspective of Bianca and truth be told, I wouldn’t have it any other way. The narration was witty, sarcastic, and insightful. She seemed really self-aware which was something I could really relate to.

Overall book impressions: I might have to buy this book. If I did, it would be Megan Meade’s Guide all over again. I’ve noticed that some teen books lately have fluff, but there was none of that in here. Bianca was real, what she went through was real. We all have problems that we run from and Kody Keplinger brought that to life. I’d strongly recommend this book.

Leave a comment