The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken: First Impressions

The Darkest Minds

First impressions are everything and The Darkest Minds made a wonderful first impressions. I am in the middle of reading this book and I just thought I’d share some of my first thoughts since I loved the prologue. It had this grim and sinister feel that I find it hard to capture in the first lines of a novel.

When I started the book this morning, I wasn’t sure what to think. Once I started, I was hooked. So far I think that the book is interesting. That word doesn’t really do it justice, but I can’t think of the right word at the moment. It seemed to have a  bit of a familiar story with the disease and special gifts and whatnot, but it still seemed like a different story altogether.

Opening paragraph:

” When the white noise went off, we were in the garden, pulling weeds.I always reacted badly to it. It didn’t matter if I was outside, eating in the Mess Hall, or locked in my cabin. When it came, the shrieking tones blew up like a pipe bomb between my ears. Other girls at Thurmond could pick themselves up after a few minutes, shaking off the nausea and disorientation like the loose grass clinging to their camp uniforms. But me? Hours would pass before I was able to piece myself back together.

This time should have been no different.

But it was”

Here’s the Goodreads summary of the book.

The Darkest Minds-Alexandra Bracken 

I have high hopes for this story and will post more about the book after I finish. Also, I’m always open to suggestions for books to read so let me know some books that you love.

2 thoughts on “The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken: First Impressions

Leave a Reply

