Books Books Everywhere!

Welcome back! Sorry I’ve been a bit in and out lately, but I’ll try to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Today’s topic is…BOOKS!

I’m a huge fan of fantasy and YA books (Happy “I Read YA” Week, by the way). Anyway, in honor of me getting a job working with books,   thought that it would be fun to talk about books and for me to give a couple of recommendations.

1. Graceling- Kristin Cahsore

Graceling

If you haven’t read this book yet, then read it! I love how Cashore develops her main character, Katsa. I also love the amount of creativity that went into this story. I remember seeing a map at the beginning of the of the book. It showed every where they’d be going and it helped give me a good visual throughout the book. Cashore also did really well with imagery. What Cashore calls a “Grace” just screams The Young Elites, but that book didn’t come out until 2014 while Graceling has been around since 2009. I’d definitely recommend this book.

Amazon synopsis: Kristin Cashore’s best-selling, award-winning fantasy Graceling tells the story of the vulnerable yet strong Katsa, a smart, beautiful teenager who lives in a world where selected people are given a Grace, a special talent that can be anything from dancing to swimming. Katsa’s is killing. As the king’s niece, she is forced to use her extreme skills as his thug. Along the way, Katsa must learn to decipher the true nature of her Grace . . . and how to put it to good use. A thrilling, action-packed fantasy adventure (and steamy romance!) that will resonate deeply with adolescents trying to find their way in the world.

2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone- Laini Taylor

DSB_final_6_1

This book spun me for a loop at the end. I liked the book, but there was something off about it that I couldn’t really put my finger on. I think I was just a bit confused on one (or two) of the characters. You’ll understand what I mean when you read it. I have the second book, but I’m waiting to read it since I’m reading Cinder right now. I’d still recommend the book since it’ll probably take you on the feels train.

Amazon Synopsis: Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

These are just a couple of books that I like. There’s this Sci-Fi book that I’ll probably recommend next time since I still haven’t gotten over that book and I read it back in December. I’m a sucker for anything creative. If it’s original and it works, then I’m on board. However, I still look at dialogue, character development and other things like that to figure out if it’s a good book to me. If you check out these books, I hope you like them.

Leave a Reply

