Using Music to Write Your Scenes

I have finally come out of my finals/moving out induced coma. Once I wiped the sleep out of my eyes, I realized that this summer is full of opportunities. I’m not exactly sure what I’ll be doing this summer, but I know that I’ll try do enter some writing competitions and participate in Camp NaNoWriMo. This will all accompany working of course. This summer will be all about exploration and inspiration. I’ll post short stories here and on Wattpad. If you’re not on Wattpad then I’d definitely suggest getting one. I haven’t posted my stories there in a while, I just use it to read people’s stories. It’s a really great place to find creativity. Now, I know I said that I’d post a book review, but I decided to wait until Friday. It’s all a part of a weekly plan that I came up with.

Today we’re going to talk about music. Certain types of music evoke certain feelings from the listener. That why I listen to music with heavy drum beats and guitars if I’m writing an action scene.

Here’s a couple of songs that I listen to lately to write intense action scenes.

This Will Be the Day-Jeff Williams and Casey Lee Williams

Red Like Roses Part II- Jeff Williams and Casey Lee Williams

If I’m going for something a bit more tame, I listen to this video on YouTube. For some reason this particular piece of music makes me think of a scene with no guns. It’s this fantastical journey that helps tremendously with mood. This video contains different pieces of music so just skip around and see what you like.

2-Hours Epic Music Mix | THE POWER OF EPIC MUSIC – Full Mix Vol. 2

If you want more music like that then follow Pandora Journey on YouTube. There’s a lot of mixes on their channel similar to the one above.

Leave a Reply

