Gumbo for the Creative Writer’s Soul: Blocking Out the Doubt

I’ve decided to change it up for today. I wasn’t going to force myself to write a story when I can’t even string together a sentence. I think I’ve reached a low point that I get to when I’ve become stuck. It doesn’t happen every time I get blocked, it just happens when I feel like everything I write is complete crap.

So here’s the issue, I feel like my writing is horrible. When I look back on everything I’ve written for class and things like that, I just see utter failure. I think this wouldn’t bother me so much if I didn’t care, but I do. I want to go into publishing one day and hopefully make a career out of the things I love most in this world; reading and writing. These moments (more like hours) of doubt had altered the way I saw my writing, but it took the advice of a really wonderful guy (thanks Bryan) to help me shake off my little doubt bug. From my conversation with Bryan I learned 3 things and decided to pass them on.

1. Support System

Having a support system can work wonders for your confidence. I know the people who will always have my back when it comes to my writing. They won’t lie to my face if it’s horrible, but they’ll have enough tact to give really good constructive criticism.  Bryan is a part of my support system and he gives me really good advice on what I should do when it comes to my writing.  

2. Words of encouragement

Words of encouragement can always help. I don’t meant from your support system (they give you encouragement anyway) I mean from yourself.. You have to be able to encourage yourself and tell yourself that your working hard and that your getting better. Here is an article with some quotes that should help inspire you.

3. Practice is the key

Writing isn’t an exact science. It takes practice. I had to realize this in order to get out of my mood. I think I expected to be the next Jane Austen straight out of the gate, but I have to keep reminding myself that I’m Jordan. I have a weird sense of humor and dialogue isn’t my best friend at the moment. Remembering this reminds me that to get where I want to be, I need to practice. Nothing comes without hard work.

Sorry about my ranting today, I just couldn’t get it out of my head. I’ve been thinking about grad school and internships and it kind of got me to this point. I just want everyone to know that doubt is something that is inevitable, but as writers it’s our job to bury that doubt under the worlds we build, the characters we make, and the words we write.

One thought on “Gumbo for the Creative Writer’s Soul: Blocking Out the Doubt

  1. Pingback: The Writer’s Pact | The Musings of a Creative Writer

Leave a Reply

