Writing Wednesday: 100 Word Story

3 words. 100. Word . Story.

Well I guess it would be 4 words if you spelled out 100, I was just trying to be dramatic.

Anyway, I’ve been struggling with what to write about today which led me to this topic. I’ve always had this problem with finding the right words (like today) and I was never really sure what to do about it. So my creative writing teacher gave us an exercise to do called the 100 word story. We were challenged to write a story of 100 words or less. It doesn’t have to be a complete story and it doesn’t have to be overly descriptive. I try to make it a scene, but that’s just my own personal preference.

Writing my 100 words allowed me to question my word choice on a smaller scale which allowed me to find the right words. So make a one hundred word story and see how you do. Don’t worry I’ll post my 100 word story here too. No one has to see your story but you. If you do want to share, feel free to email me or submit it to 100wordstory.com.

Here’s my 100 word story, Hit Man for Hire.

I remember the first and last funeral I’d ever gone to. I strolled through the cemetery until I was staring into the casket of Ben Grier. He wasn’t that great; we talked before I killed him. Tear stained faces prayed to the sky above asking “why?” They all remembered him as Ben the saint; not Ben the monster. Apathy was etched into his wife’s features, but no one seemed to notice. She knew what he’d become, that’s why she hired me. I turned away from the casket, briefly making eye contact with the wife. It was time for me to go.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: 100 Word Story

Leave a Reply

